Why I’m Attending the Black Alumni Reunion: Ebony Stephenson ’07

IMG_6365.jpg

Growing up in Virginia Beach, VA there were two things that I always knew; that I would go to Virginia Tech and that I would use my artistic skills to change people’s lives.  Even though I was accepted to several other universities I kept my word and decided on VT.  In 2003 I enrolled at Virginia Tech and I knew that my life had changed forever.  From day one I met strangers who became friends and from friends they became more like family.  I was even a bridesmaid in 2 Hokie themed weddings for two of my old roommates!

After graduating in 2007 I went on to become a Residential Remodeling Design Consultant specializing in Kitchens and Baths.  I have won several national design awards and started my own company, Designs by Ebony.  I still keep in contact with my professors from my college days and one in particular Dr. Kathleen Parrott even came all the way out to Las Vegas to cheer me on from the audience as I received my award on stage.  

When I received the announcement about the 2016 Black Alumni Reunion there was zero hesitation to register for the full event.  Any excuse to go back to Tech is good but to go for the Black Alumni Reunion was priceless.  Besides going to the spring game and reconnecting with old friends, I will be using this opportunity to give back to my community.  While I am in town I will be taking advantage of our alma maters motto, Ut Prosim by volunteering my time to mentor students interested in my career field.  I look forward to sitting down and speaking with students to answer any questions that they may have about the design and construction industry.  

I am so excited to attend the 2016 Black Alumni Reunion and see all of my friends, but first West End for some London Broil!

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Join Ebony and hundreds of alumni April 21-24, 2016 in Blacksburg, VA!!

2016 Virginia Tech Black Alumni Reunion Registration and Schedule:

http://www.inclusive.vt.edu/alumni/aab/bar/index.html

Follow us on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/VT-Black-Alumni-Reunion-488313217867388/

Find Ebony’s Interior Design Work Here:

 

 

Leave a Reply

